Sunrise over Punta Cana in the Dominican Republic

Last week I stayed at the Grand Bahia Principe resort in Punta Cana, Dominican Republic to attend a destination wedding. Beach vacations aren’t my cup of tea but a chance to get together with so many family members for a happy occasion was not to be missed. I managed to get up before sunrise on a couple of days and headed off to the beach to see what kind of photos I could take, just to prove that I didn’t spend the entire week indolently moving between beach and bar. You’ve got to admire someone who gets up before the sun for art. Right?

Here are some Caribbean sunrises that I hope you’ll enjoy.

My wife came with me this morning to see what it was that I was doing out here all by myself. It wasn’t as exciting as her imagination may have led her to believe but I’m glad she came as her silhouette is my favourite part of this image.

Watching the sunrise

I used a B&W ND110 10 stop ND filter on this next shot to get a 30 second exposure. I like the sense of motion from the blurred palm fronds and clouds.

Sunrise, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic

This was one of the more dramatic sunrises of the week. It wasn’t until I got home that I noticed the crescent moon in the top right corner, partially obscured by the palm frond. I debated cloning it out but in the end I left it in.

Sunrise, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic

Here’s another view of the same sunrise but zoomed in on a little boat that was anchored just offshore.

Sunrise, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic

Now that I’m back, it’s time to try and shed the pounds I put on with my week of leisure and gluttony.

3 responses to “Sunrise over Punta Cana in the Dominican Republic

  1. Very nice series! I admire you for getting up so early on vacation! I struggle to do it on the weekends. ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

